Procedures for Attorney Admission to the U.S. District Court for the District of New Jersey
Effective January 21, 2020 the U.S. District Court for the District of New Jersey is a NextGen CM/ECF court. In order to request admission to practice, you must have an upgraded individual PACER account. If you do not have an upgraded individual PACER Account, Click HERE for procedures. If you do not have a PACER Account, you may register for a PACER account at: https://www.pacer.gov/ Once you have an upgraded individual PACER account, follow the below instructions for Attorney Admission. It is recommended that you check the New Jersey District Court’s website to review admission requirements, local rules, and procedures at: www.njd.uscourts.gov
Attorney Admission Requirements
An attorney must be a member of the New Jersey Supreme Court and in good standing before being admitted to the U.S. District Court for the District of New Jersey. Attorneys are not automatically admitted to the U.S. District Court for the District of New Jersey upon admission to the Bar of the State of New Jersey. Local Rule 101.1 governs the court’s bar admission procedures.
Attorney Admission Application and Instructions
1. The candidate must complete the Application for Admission to the U.S. District Court for the District of New Jersey. Click HERE for the Application. The candidate must have the Oath administered by an individual authorized to administer oaths (a judge, an attorney, or notary). The person may be an official of any jurisdiction.
2. In addition to the Application, the candidate must also provide a current (fewer than 30 days old) New Jersey Supreme Court Certificate of Good Standing. You may obtain the New Jersey Supreme Court Certificate of Good Standing by contacting the New Jersey State Board of Bar Examiners. There is a $20 fee charged by the State of New Jersey for each certificate. New Jersey State Courts website: www.njcourts.gov/
3. The completed Application for Admission to the U.S. District Court and New Jersey Supreme Court Certificate of Good Standing WILL BE UPLOADED through the attorney’s individual PACER ACCOUNT to the “ATTORNEY ADMISSONS” option for the District of New Jersey. DO NOT MAIL COPIES
TO THE COURT.
4. The Application for Admission to the U.S. District Court and the New Jersey Supreme Court Certificate of Good Standing must be submitted through PACER to the District of New Jersey at least seven (7) days prior to the date the applicant wishes to be admitted.
5. If your admission documents are complete AND you are eligible to be admitted, the Clerk’s Office will send you an email instructing you to pay the $200 admission fee through your PACER account. The fee must be paid through PACER PRIOR to being admitted.
DO NOT MAIL OR DELIVER A CHECK TO THE CLERK’S OFFICE. THE ADMISSION FEE MUST BE PAID THROUGH PACER.
6. If payment is not received within 60 days of the email notification, the Court will require the candidate to submit a new Application for Admission and an updated New Jersey Supreme Court Certificate of Good Standing.
7. On receipt of payment, an email will be sent advising of your date of admission. A Certificate of Admission will be mailed to you within 45 days of your admission.
8. Once admitted, you will be given full ECF filing access in the District of New Jersey.
9. Any name, address, law firm, and/or telephone number changes MUST be made through the attorney’s PACER account by clicking on the MAINTENANCE TAB, then selecting the applicable option to update address or other information.
10. For any questions about the attorney admission process, please contact the Attorney Admissions Office at 609-989-0468 or email the Finance Office at: firstname.lastname@example.org.
U.S. District Court for Certificate of Good Standing
1. To obtain a U.S. District Court Certificate of Good Standing, please complete the Request for Certificate of Good Standing. Click HERE for the Request form. All information should be completed to ensure that your Certificate is correct. If you know your New Jersey State Attorney ID Number, please include it.
2. The fee for a Certificate of Good Standing is $19.00 payable to Clerk, U.S. District Court.
3. Forward the application, payment and a stamped, self-addressed envelope to the Attorney Admissions Office. The Certificate of Good Standing will be mailed within five business days.
Pro Hac Vice
1. An attorney not eligible for admission to the Bar of the New Jersey District Court pursuant to Local Rule 101.1(b) may, on motion, be permitted to appear pro hac vice and participate in a particular case.
2. Local Rule 101.1(c) governs the admission of an attorney pro hac vice.
3. The motion to appear pro hac vice shall be filed via PACER by a member of the bar of this Court.
4. Upon the granting of a motion to appear pro hac vice, the out-of-state attorney is required to make a payment of $150 on each admission payable to the Clerk, U.S. District Court.
5. The order granting a motion to appear pro hac vice shall require the out-of-state attorney to make a payment to the New Jersey Lawyers’ Fund for Client Protection as provided by New Jersey State Court Rule 1:28-2(a).
6. According to Local Civil Rule 101.1(c)(4), local counsel must file papers, enter appearances for parties, sign stipulations or sign and receive payments on judgments, decrees or orders.
7. An attorney admitted pro hac vice may request to receive Notices of Electronic Filing (NEFs) of documents.
Attorney Admissions Office
United States District Court
Clarkson S. Fisher Federal Building
and United States Courthouse
Attn: Finance Department
402 East State Street, Room 2020
Trenton, NJ 08608
Telephone No.: (609) 989-0468